As entertaining as Instagram can be. The annoying thing is that they make it so difficult to delete your account when you don’t want to use it anymore. To keep user retention high they probably make it hard to find on purpose.
The point of this reading is to show you a few different ways you can use to remove your Instagram account either temporarily or permanently. If you do not plan on using your profile anymore and you want to delete it. You will no longer show up in your friends followers list or news feed, all of your photos and content information will be removed from the app.
You have two options. The first option is you can remove it temporarily. You can always come back later and all your content will be restored. The next option is you can remove it permanently. There is no going back from this.
Temporarily Remove Instagram Account:
- With a web browser on either a PC or mobile device and visit go to the Instagram website.
- Tap on you profile name.
- Tap on “edit profile”
- Select the option to temporarily remove your account.
Important: Do not log back in or your account or your profile will automatically be reactivated. You can always come back later and if you want to recover all your photos and followers back all you need to do is log in. While you are temporarily removed your profile, followers, and everything on your page will remain hidden to the world.
Permanently Delete Instagram Account:
- With a web browser go to the official instagram website and log in.
- Use this url to request a permanent account deletion.
Important: This will remove your account forever. If you decide later you want to use their service again. You will have to make a new profile from scratch.